International Environmental Communication (IECA) Elections: List of Candidates for Board of Directors positions

The International Environmental Communication Association (IECA-provisional name) has launched as a new organization.  Go to our web site at for updates about what is going on with this exciting new effort.

Elections for 8 Board of Director positions will be held from mid-April to mid-May–you can now register to vote by going to and clicking on “elections.”

Here is the final list of candidates for Board of Director positions (for complete biographical information, go to and click on “elections”):

Board of Directors for the International  Environmental Communication Association 2011 Candidate List (FINAL)   23 candidates

Dr. Lee Ahern, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, College of Communications; Senior Research Fellow, Arthur W. Page Center for Integrity in Public Communication, Penn State University (USA)

Dr. Jose Reuben Q. Alagaran II, PhD, President, Philippines Communication Society; Consultant, Adaptation to Climate Change and Conservation of Biodiversity (ACCBio) Project; Head, Research and Publications Management Office & Associate Professor, Department of Communication, Miriam College (Philippines)

Dr. I. Arul Aram, Director, Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC), Anna University (India)

Dr John Blewitt PhD, FRSA, Director of Lifelong Learning, Aston University, Birmingham (UK)

Dr. Anabela Carvalho, Ph.D.; Department of Communication Sciences, University of Minho, Braga (Portugal); Co-founder and Vice-Chair, Science and Environment Communication Section, ECREA (European Communication Research and Education Association

Richard Doherty, Doctoral Student, Institute of Communications Research, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (USA)

Dr Julie Doyle, Ph.D., Principal Lecturer in Media and Communication Studies, School of Arts and Media, University of Brighton (UK); Co-founder and Vice-Chair of the Science and Environment Communication Section, European Communication Research and Education Association (ECREA) :

Dr. Neil Gavin, Department of Politics, University of Liverpool (UK); Convener-Climate Change, Environment and Sustainability Network, Media, Communication, and Cultural Studies Association(MECCSA)

Anders Hansen, Senior Lecturer, Department of Media and Communication, University of Leicester (UK); Founding Chair, Environment, Science and Risk Communication Group, IAMCR

Kathleen P. Hunt, Doctoral Student, University of Utah(USA)

Sangita Iyer, Founding Executive Director, Bermuda Environmental Alliance (Bermuda)

Libby Lester, Ph.D., Associate Professor; Journalism, Media and Communications, School of English, Journalism and European Languages, University of Tasmania (Australia)

Soenke Lorenzen, Media Analyst, Greenpeace International (Netherlands)

Amanda Katili Niode, Ph.D., Coordinator, Division of Communication, Information, Education, Indonesian National Council on Climate Change; Manager, The Climate Project Indonesia (Indonesia)

Dr. Manoj K. Patairiya, M. Sc. (Environmental Biology), Visiting Professor, Global Communication, Chungnam National University, South Korea, Director, National Council for Science & Technology Communication (South Korea)

Mark Pedelty, Ph.D., Associate Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Resident Fellow at the Institute on the Environment, University of Minnesota (USA)

Emily Plec, Ph. D., Associate Professor, Communication Studies, Western Oregon University (USA)

Raul Reis, Ph.D.,Professor & Chair, Department of Journalism & Mass Communication, California State University, Long Beach (USA)

Stacey K. Sowards, Ph.D., Associate Professor & Research Fellow, Department of Communication, Sam Donaldson Center for Communication, University of Texas at El Paso (USA)

Nadarajah Sriskandarajah, PhD, Professor of Environmental Communication, Dept of Urban and Rural Development, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences , Uppsala (Sweden)

Miguel Vicente-Mariño, PhD, Senior Lecturer, Vice-Dean of the School of Legal, Social and Communication Sciences, University of Valladolid – Segovia Campus (Spain)

Barb Willard, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Joint Appointment – College of Communication & Department of Environmental Science & Studies, DePaul University (USA)

Ruben Zondervan, Executive Director, Earth System Governance Project, International Project Office, Lund University, Lund (Sweden)

About Steve Depoe

Professor, Department of Communication, University of Cincinnati, USA Editor, Environmental Communication: A Journal of Nature and Culture (
This entry was posted in Environmental Communication. Bookmark the permalink.