McKibben on Colbert, Your Thoughts?

On Monday night, author, activist, and Co-Founder and Director of the climate crisis action group 350.org, Bill McKibben was on The Colbert Report. I can’t embed the video exactly (WordPress doesn’t allow it), but you can watch the interview here or by clicking on the picture.

Bill McKibben on The Colbert Report

Bill McKibben on The Colbert Report

Now, having read many of his books and seen him speak on multiple occasions (I even got to introduce him once), I can say that McKibben is an excellent communicator who has a good sense of humor. But it’s not easy being on a fake political pundit show. And while he had his talking points ready and did an admirable job of not deviating from them, it seemed to me that he wasn’t too well prepared for the comedy format. But maybe I’m expecting too much. Or maybe this was the right way to go. I’m wondering what you think.

Once you’ve had a look at the clip, please cast a vote here and, even more importantly, leave a comment with your thoughts on the interview. As always, votes are anonymous. I will open up the results once there have been at least 25 votes. Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts.

About Mark S. Meisner

Executive Director of the International Environmental Communication Association (IECA). I also research, teach, write about, and speak on environmental and sustainability communication, media, culture, and policy. Facts are usually facts, but opinions and sense of humour are always my own.
This entry was posted in Environmental Communication, Popular Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to McKibben on Colbert, Your Thoughts?

  1. Jen Schneider says:

    I always feel bad for folks on Colbert or Stewart, b/c those two are so good about getting you off message! Much worse is when guests try to be funny, so I’m glad McKibben played it straight. I thought the message was pretty good.

    For folks already on board, anyway.

    But, this: “Chemistry and physics doesn’t bargain”? Ah, the hallowed halls of scientific truth :).

  2. Milan says:

    Very nicely done, and it’s challenging to be interviewed by Colbert.

    Actually, Colbert seems to understand the seriousness of climate change a lot better than Jon Stewart.

Comments are closed.